American Christian Fiction Writers
Angie Breidenbach

Angela Breidenbach is Mrs. Montana International 2009 working with Hope’s Promise Orphan Ministries, the Jadyn Fred Foundation, and drawing awareness to Fair Trade practices. Angela’s calling is as a purposeful life coach and educator. She’s also certified in mentor/peer counseling as a Stephen Minister and Assisting Minister. She serves as the American Christian Fiction Writer's Publicity Officer and is a multi-award winning inspirational author and speaker. Not only did she walk the hard line of deciding to donate her mom's brain, but she is also on the brain donation list at the Brain Bank-Harvard McLean Hospital. She is married, has a combined family of six grown children, one grandson. Purposeful Living Educator & Coach. Personal growth = Powerful living! You can interact or learn more about Angela Breidenbach at these sites: on Wednesdays each week.

How Would You Like to Be Remembered?

As we offer our work to the Lord, how many of us realize this is a legacy? Carol Johnson’s life-long work in Christian fiction created a legacy that allows Christian authors to write faith-filled novels and leave a legacy of their own. Without Carol’s work, most of us would not have the opportunity to touch the lives of not only our generation but generations to come. Wouldn’t you like to be remembered for starting something like that?

Joyfully announced at a press conference during the International Christian Retailers Show, American Christian Fiction Writers unveiled The Carol Award honoring the legacy of Carol Johnson. Previously known as ACFW’s Book of the Year, hundreds of authors enter their Christian novels in the ACFW Book of the Year contest. These novelists are honored for excellence in Christian fiction. (A list of past winners follows this article.)

Over thirty years ago Carol Johnson, working as a Bethany Publishing House editor, made a bold decision that changed the future of Christian fiction. She championed Christian fiction by acquiring author Janette Oke, whose Love Comes Softly blazed a trail for future storytellers.

ACFW CEO and award-winning author Colleen Coble says, “Although Carol Johnson is most content behind the scenes, her contribution to modern Christian fiction (both historical and contemporary) is impossible to measure. Where would we be today if she had turned down that project and the firestorm of fiction it helped unleash?”

Bethany House Publisher’s Vice President of Editorial is David Horton shared his thoughts on Carol’s work. “Carol’s vision for the future of fiction, her belief in the power of story to share God’s truth, her respect for the art of writing, her trust in the editorial process, and her abiding concern for her authors set the course that Bethany House continues to follow today. Her acquisitions knocked open doors we now take for granted. The books she edited touched millions of lives.”

Again, I ask how would you like to be remembered?

Excitement is stirring because Carol Johnson will be present for the awards banquet at ACFW’s annual conference September 17–20 in Indianapolis to present the inaugural The Carol Award. Janette Oke will attend as well to join conferees and industry professionals in celebrating the growth of Christian fiction and to present Carol Johnson with ACFW’s first ever Lifetime Achievement Award.

Members of the press who are present to report on this historic event at the ACFW awards banquet on Sunday evening, September 19, 2010, will be provided professional promo photos of each of the inaugural Carol Award winners with Carol, as well as interview opportunities with The Carol Award finalists and winners.

“ACFW owes a great debt of gratitude to the pioneers of Christian fiction,” says ACFW President Cynthia Ruchti, “and to those who helped make Christian fiction the storytelling powerhouse it is today. To honor editorial pioneer Carol Johnson and others like her who envisioned how Christian fiction could make a mark in the publishing world, ACFW has renamed our Book of the Year Award. From this point on, the highest achievement in our award program for published authors will be The Carol Award.”

ACFW is devoted to training its writers, educating them in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry. With more than 2100 members and twenty-one local chapters in fifteen states as well as a beyond-the-borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks loud and strong as the voice of Christian fiction. May your life, work, and faith be an inspirational legacy.

ACFW Book of the Year Winners

Nikki Arana
Tracey Bateman
Robin Bayne
Kristin Billerbeck
Dorothy Clark
Colleen Coble
Brandilyn Collins
Margaret Daley
Susan Page Davis
Mary Davis
Sharon Dunn
Rhonda Gibson
Cathy Gohlke
Linda Goodnight
Tricia Goyer
Pamela Griffin
Linda Hall
Robin Lee Hatcher
Rachel Hauck

Sharon Hinck
Diann Hunt
Bev Huston
Randy Ingermanson
Sunni Jeffers
Jenny B. Jones
Tamara Leigh
Julie Lessman
Joyce Livingston
Lianne Bruynell Lopes
Christine Lynxwiler
Gail Martin
Lorena McCourtney
Nancy Mehl
Susan Meissner
Judith Miller
DiAnn Mills John B. Olson
Miles Owen

Donita K. Paul
Tracie Peterson
Cara Putman
Deborah Raney
Gayle Roper
Kim Vogel Sawyer
Marlo Schalesky
Lynette Sowell
Kathryn Springer
Jill Stengl
Camy Tang
Pamela Tracy
Carol Umberger
Laura Jensen Walker
Susan May Warren
Elizabeth White
Linda Wichman
Linda Windsor