American Christian Fiction Writers
Cara Putman

Cara Putman is a woman living a dream. Barbour's Heartsong Presents has released six of her books, including Canteen Dreams, a WWII historical set in Nebraska that won the ACFW 2008 Book of the Year for Short Historical. She also has written romantic suspense for Harlequin's Love Inspired Suspense, contemporary mysteries for Guidepost, a historical romantic suspense for Summerside, and the Complete Idiots Guide to Business Law. Cara is an attorney, wife, mom to four, homeschool teacher, occasional professor at Purdue, active at her church, and all around crazy woman. Crazy about God, her husband and her kids. Visit her at

ACFW Happenings

2011 ACFW Award Winners Announced

Fiction Finder

On Saturday, September 22, 2011, American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) announced the winners of the prestigious Carol Award for best published books, and Genesis contest for best unpublished writing. They also announced winners of several additional awards.

Janna Ryan received the Member Services Award for her years of service to ACFW and its authors through the conference bookstore. Bonnie Calhoun was recognized as the 2011 Mentor of the Year for all the ways she mentors writers. Revell editor Andrea Doering was named the Editor of the Year, while Rachelle Gardner with WordServe Literary was the Agent of the Year.

Tracie Peterson, the keynote speaker, received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Tracie was a trailblazer, with more than eighty-five books in print, and as an editor played a role in launching many authors’ careers.

The winners of the Genesis contest for unpublished authors are:

Katy Pistole for Contemporary Fiction
Mary Curry for Contemporary Romance
Johnnie Alexaner Donley for Historical Fiction
Sarah Ladd for Historical Romance
Dianna T. Benson for Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Renee Ann Smith for Romantic Suspense
Matt Jones for Speculative Fiction
Camille Eide for Women’s Fiction
Nicole Quigley for Young Adult

The Carol Award recognizes excellence in published Christian fiction. It was awarded in fifteen categories:

Debut Author: Crossing Oceans by Gina Holmes (Tyndale)
Long Contemporary: Never Say Never by Lisa Wingate (Bethany)
Long Contemporary Romance: Plain Paradise by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson)
Long Historical: Sons of Thunder by Susan May Warren (Summerside Press)
Long Historical Romance: Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa by Melanie Dobson (Summerside Press)
Mystery: The Camera Never Lies by Elizabeth Goddard (Barbour)
Novella: A Trusting Heart by Carrie Turansky (Barbour)
Romantic Suspense: The Silent Order by Melanie Dobson (Summerside Press)
Short Contemporary: A Father for Zach by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired)
Short Contemporary Suspense: Night Prey by Sharon Dunn (Love Inspired Suspense)
Short Historical: Her Healing Ways by Lyn Cote (Love Inspired)
Speculative Fiction: König’s Fire by Marc Schooley (Marcher Lord Press)
Suspense/Thriller: Predator by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan)
Women’s Fiction: Beaded Hope by Cathy Liggett (Tyndale)
Young Adult: Anything but Normal by Melody Carlson (Revell)

Congratulations to all our winners!