ACFW Conference
Cara Putnam

Cara graduated with honors from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (Go Huskers!), moved to the Washington, DC area, married the man of her dreams, worked in the non-profit world, went to George Mason Law School at night. Cara is also an attorney, lecturer at a Big Ten university, women's ministry leader, and all around crazy woman. Crazy about God, her husband and her kids. Heartsong Presents is publishing her three book series of World War Two romances: Canteen Dreams (October 2007), Sandhill Dreams (May 2008), and Captive Dreams (September 2008). Love Inspired Suspense published her first romantic suspense in May 2008. Now she’s working on the Complete Idiot’s Guide to Business Law (don’t ask!) and the first book in an Ohio World War Two series.

The ACFW Genesis Finalists

The Genesis, formerly known as the Noble Theme, is the ACFW contest for unpublished Christian writers. The contest has a multitude of categories/genres to enter, the opportunity for unbiased feedback on writers’ work by published authors and experienced judges, and the chance for the category finalists to have their work read by Christian publishing house editors and literary agents. Over the years ACFW has been pleased to see previous Noble Theme and Genesis winners and finalists advance in their writing careers to become published authors.

This year’s finalists are:

Chick lit/mom lit/lady lit

1. Annalisa Daughety
2. Tiffany Kinerson
3. Sara Richardson
4. Lynda Schab
5. Erica Vetsch

Contemporary Fiction

1. Christina Berry
2. Dan Case
3. Lynne Gentry
4. Jennifer L. Griffith
5. Jim Rubart

Contemporary Romance

1. Annalisa Daughety
2. Kathleen Haynes
3. Cara Slaughter
4. Sandra van den Bogerd
5. Linda Yezak

Historical Fiction

1. Yvonne Anderson
2. Lori Benton
3. Mona Hodgson
4. Christina Miller
5. Rachel Moore

Historical Romance

1. Patty Smith Hall
2. Myra Johnson

3. Allison Studer
4. Erica Vetsch
5. Karen Witemeyer


1. Ed J. Horton
2. Melanie L. Jones
3. Janice Olson
4. Donna Alice Patton
5. Jane Thornton

Romantic Suspense

1. Dani Pettrey
2. Kelly Ann Riley
3. Julie Scudder
4. Jane Thornton
5. Jenness Walker

Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Allegory (We have six finalists because a tie occurred for 5th place.)

1. Lynda K. Arndt
2. Valerie Comer
3. John W. Otte
4. Jim Rubart
5. Chawna Schroeder
6. Stuart Stockton

Women’s Fiction (We have six finalists because a tie occurred for 5th place.)

1. Heather Goodman
2. D’Ann Mateer
3. Sara Richardson 4. Linda Rondeau
5. Cynthia Ruchti
6. Kristian Tolle

Young Adult

1. Kasey L. Heinly
2. Stefanie Morris
3. Susan Miura
4. Janet Rubin
5. Carla Stewart

Congratulations to all the 2008 Genesis finalists! The winners will be announced at the 2008 ACFW Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota!