American Christian Fiction Writers
Cara Putman

Cara Putman is a woman living a dream. Barbour's Heartsong Presents has released six of her books, including Canteen Dreams, a WWII historical set in Nebraska that won the ACFW 2008 Book of the Year for Short Historical. She also has written romantic suspense for Harlequin's Love Inspired Suspense, contemporary mysteries for Guidepost, a historical romantic suspense for Summerside, and the Complete Idiots Guide to Business Law. Cara is an attorney, wife, mom to four, homeschool teacher, occasional professor at Purdue, active at her church, and all around crazy woman. Crazy about God, her husband and her kids. Visit her at

ACFW Happenings

Carol Award

Fiction Finder

Last month, ACFW announced the finalists for the 2011 Carol Award in a press conference at the International Christian Retail Show. This award is bestowed upon the “best of the best” in Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year. The 2011 awards celebrate excellence in books released in 2010 in fifteen genres that reflect the breadth and depth of Christian fiction.

The award has become one that editors and agents watch closely. Janet Kobobel Grant, founder of Books & Such Literary Agency, says, “Garnering a Carol Award is a crowning achievement for any author.” According to Chip MacGregor, president of MacGregor Literary, “[the Carol] has earned its place in the world of publishing.”

ACFW is delighted to announce the 2011 Carol Award finalists:

Debut Author
The Preacher’s Bride by Jody Hedlund (Bethany House, Editor: David Long)
Crossing Oceans by Gina Holmes (Tyndale Publishers, Editor: Kathryn Olson)
Rooms by James L. Rubart (B&H Publishing, Editor: Julee Schwarzburg)

Long Contemporary
The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell, Editor: Andrea Doering)
Red Ink by Kathi Macias (New Hope Publishers, Editor: Randy Bishop)
Never Say Never by Lisa Wingate (Bethany House, Editor: David Long)

Long Contemporary Romance
Plain Jayne by Hilary Manton Lodge (Harvest House, Editor: Kim Moore)
Anna’s Return by Marta Perry (Berkley, Editor: Ellen Edwards)
Plain Paradise by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson, Editor: Natalie Hanemann)

Long Historical
Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs (Waterbrook Press, Editor: Laura Barker)
Petra: City in Stone by T.L. Higley (B&H Publishing, Editor: Karen Ball)
Sons of Thunder by Susan May Warren (Summerside Press, Editor: Susan Downs)

Long Historical Romance
The Husband Tree by Mary Connealy (Barbour, Editor: Rebecca Germany)
Love Finds You in Homestead, Iowa by Melanie Dobson (Summerside, Editor: Rachel Meisel)
Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz (Revell, Editor: Andrea Doering)

Mirrored Image by Alice K. Arenz (Sheaf House, Editor: Joan M. Shoup)
Muslin Mystery by Vera Dodge (Guideposts, Editor: Beth Adams)
The Camera Never Lies by Elizabeth Goddard (Barbour, Editor: Rebecca Germany)

The Prodigal Groom by Vickie McDonough (Barbour, Editor: Rebecca Germany)
Ride with Me into Christmas by Rachael Phillips (Barbour, Editor: Rebecca Germany)
A Trusting Heart by Carrie Turansky (Barbour, Editor: Rebecca Germany)

Romantic Suspense
The Silent Order by Melanie Dobson (Summerside Press, Editor: Rachel Meisel)
Don’t Look Back by Lynette Eason (Revell, Editor: Andrea Doering)
Pursuit of Justice by DiAnn Mills (Tyndale Publishers, Editor: Karen Watson)

Short Contemporary
The Wedding Garden by Linda Goodnight (Love Inspired, Editor: Allison Lyons)
A Father for Zach by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired, Editor: Melissa Endlich)
Winter’s End by Ruth Logan Herne (Love Inspired, Editor: Melissa Endlich)

Short Contemporary Suspense
Night Prey by Sharon Dunn (Love Inspired Suspense, Editor: Emily Rodmell)
Legacy of Lies by Jill Elizabeth Nelson (Love Inspired Suspense, Editor: Emily Rodmell)
Firestorm by Kelly Ann Riley (Love Inspired Suspense, Editor: Tina James)

Short Historical
Her Healing Ways by Lyn Cote (Love Inspired, Editor: Tina James)
Promise of Tomorrow by S. Dionne Moore (Barbour, Editor: JoAnne Simmons)
The Columns of Cottonwood by Sandra Robbins (Barbour, Editor: JoAnne Simmons)

Speculative Fiction
The Wolf of Tebron by C. S. Lakin (AMG Publishers, Editor: Rick Steele)
Rooms by James L. Rubart (B&H Publishing, Editor: Julee Schwarzburg)
König’s Fire by Marc Schooley (Marcher Lord Press, Editor: Jeff Gerke)

Predator by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan, Editor: Sue Brower)
Fear No Evil by Robin Caroll (B&H Publishing, Editors: Julee Schwarzburg and Karen Ball)
Medical Error by Richard L. Mabry (Abingdon Press, Editor: Barbara Scott)

Women’s Fiction
Beaded Hope by Cathy Liggett (Tyndale Publishers, Editor: Jan Stob)
They Almost Always Come Home by Cynthia Ruchti (Abingdon, Editor: Barbara Scott)
Beyond Summer by Lisa Wingate (NAL, Editor: Ellen Edwards)

Young Adult
Anything But Normal by Melody Carlson (Revell, Editor: Lonnie Hull Dupont)
Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson (Zonderkidz, Editor: Jacque Alberta)
Katy’s New World by Kim Vogel Sawyer (Zonderkidz, Editor: Jacque Alberta)

The winners will be announced Saturday, September 24, 2011,, at the Award’s Gala during the American Christian Fiction Writers conference in St. Louis. Congratulations to all the finalists!